Incorporated in 1859, Wheaton is located approximately 25 miles west of the City of Chicago in DuPage County. Conveniently located in the center of the County, Wheaton serves as the county seat. Wheaton has maintained a reputation as a conservative family-oriented community with high quality schools and parks.


The governing body of the City is composed of four City Council Members elected from districts and two Council Members and the Mayor who are elected at-large. Since 1961 the City has operated under the Council-Manager form of government with the City Manager responsible for the daily operations and staffing of the City. The City has 286 full time employees, including 70 sworn police officers, and 34 full time and 6 paid on call firefighters. The Fire Department operates out of three stations and contracts with a private provider for emergency medical services. The City has a Class 4 fire insurance rating.


The City’s first Tax Increment Financing District (TIF) established to revitalize the Central Business District proves to be a success. The initial equalized assessed valuation of the TIF has increased from the 1993 valuation of $4.9 million to the 1999 valuation of $11.1 million. Waterford Place (a 110 unit condominium complex), Wheaton Place (a 43 unit condominium project), a new public parking garage, a new train station and several new restaurants are among projects completed downtown.


Source: US Census Bureau, 2013 QuickFacts


52,479Daytime Population

19,051Number Of Households

Median Household Income:$86,229

$42,299Per Capita Income

$357,400Median Household Cost


303 W. Wesley St.
Wheaton, Illinois 60187
Phone: (630) 260-2008